Second Term Recap – Written by Spenser

“It feels a lot like our cat trapped between the radiator and wall I assume” – Amanda

Term 2/9 done! First term of clincals complete.

  • How hard was the second term compared to what you thought?

The school work was less stressful then the 2nd term, however adding on clinical work to the school work seems to take a lot more time out of my schedule. It’s also a different type of stress when your starting clinicals because there’s a surprising amount of production pressure on you, and people in the OR are very particular about a lot of things. You learn a lot of different ways of doing the same thing, and most everyone thinks that their way is the correct way. That being said, it’s nice to learn multiple techniques and the reasoning of different people because it allows you to figure out what you like.

  • How much do you study?

I would say I studied everyday and tried to take a few hours out of my day to enjoy dinner and maybe a short movie/tv show with my wife when we could. Otherwise it felt like I was always studying.

  • What would you tell someone trying to get into CRNA school?

I would tell somebody trying to get into CRNA school that they need to be 100% committed and they to need to make sure their significant other is 100% committed because it’s an incredible amount of work and time when your in it.

  • What do you miss the most now that you’re in school?

I would say I miss my free time the most, and not feeling guilty about going and doing something I enjoy instead of worrying about studying and clinical. I’m very much looking forward to finishing and making a pay check along with having my weekends back to do things my wife and I enjoy.

  • How did your tests go? / Are you ready for the next term and clinicals to be on more days?

My finals went surprisingly well. I studied very hard, and I got through it.
I am not looking forward to clinicals being on more days. Instead of having clinical for only 2 days a week, it’s will be 3, with all my classes packed into 2 days of the week, leaving only the weekend to actually have time to study.

  • What was the biggest shock of CRNA school so far?

The biggest shock I would say is seeing how so many different people do their work differently. You don’t realize how many different ways you can do anesthesia.

  • How are you handling school financially? Mentally? Emotionally?

School financially to me is just a very large investment that will eventually pay off. Mentally, I rely a lot on my wife and her help with everything such as dinner or packing my lunches during my early clinical days. Emotionally… I don’t have time for emotion.

  • Any regrets?

No regrets yet… although I am reconsidering how much I’m spending at Penn compared to other schools that are half the cost.

  • What things made the term easier or harder?

I would say making sure you’re doing as much work ahead of time that you can makes the term a whole lot easier when you get to the end. I worked on my final papers/essays the first couple weeks of school so I didn’t have to worry about them later in the term closer to finals. That way when as finals came I could concentrate on those only.

 

 

Leave a comment